Donor Newsletter

Spring Newsletter 2022

Day Camp Fun  Around the Corner

We’re extremely excited to welcome our campers back this summer! Our nine weeks of summer day camp kick off on June 21, and will end on August 18.

Staff Profile: Daylee Shaw

We are pleased to introduce you to Daylee Shaw, the MJCC’s new Day Camp Manager. Many of you will have the opportunity to meet her this summer. In the meantime, here’s an opportunity to learn a little more about her.

MJCC Community Celebration | May 24, 2022 at 5:30 pm

At the Annual MJCC Community Celebration on Tuesday, May 24, 2022, we will present a number of annual awards, including the Pillar of Excellence Award, the Harry Glickman Scholar Athlete Award, and induct new members into the Oregon Jewish Sports Hall of Fame.

Staff Profile: Ian Scriven

We are delighted to welcome Ian Scriven to Team J. He is our newest Personal Trainer, but he’s not new to the J! He grew up in SW Portland and was a member of the J from 2011-2018. 

Campus Planning Effort to Resume

Learn about the creation of a multi-phase Comprehensive Campus Plan to identify opportunities to repurpose, renovate, and expand spaces on the Schnitzer Family Campus to meet the future growth and programmatic needs of the MJCC and PJA.

Arts + Culture are Alive at the J

The MJCC has continued to offer a wide array of arts & culture programs, and it has been wonderful to offer both in-person and hybrid programs. We continue to offer several programs in a hybrid format which allows attendees to decide to participate either in-person or online.


Shopping with gift cards purchased through ShopWithScrip or their mobile app RaiseRight is a simple way to support the J

MJCC’s #PDX Business Series Thrives

The year 2022 has seen many more events back at the MJCC. Following our first two Business Zoom programs of the year, let’s look back on what was featured so far as well as what is to come.

MJCC Board of Directors:
Jason Zidell  |  President
Danelle Romain  |  President-Elect
John Emshwiller  |  Vice President
Rich Barker  |  Treasurer
Jonathan Singer  | Secretary
Steven Klein  |  Immediate Past-President
Barry Benson
Joyce Evans
Nadine Gartner
Jonathan Glass
Marni Glick
Naomi Harwin
Michelle Kashinsky
Gail Mandel
Opher Nadler
David Solondz
Tamar Wyte-Lake
Ahuva Zaslavsky

To learn more about our board, visit this page and click on the Board Members tab.

List of Contributors to this Newsletter:
Steve Albert
Becky Ewer
Anna Hixon
Lisa Katon
Saul Korin
Eden Samiee 
Karen Sapoznikow
Ian Scriven
Daylee Shaw
Lenny Steinberg

Past Newsletters